Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Referencing 7th ed.: Ebooks

Note about URLs

URLs or the website link listed as part of an entry in the reference list can be left 'live' i.e. as a hyperlink in blue with an underline. However, for aesthetic reasons, your tutor may request that the link has the blue colouring and/ or underlining removed. This can make the reference list easier to read. Please check with your tutor as to how they would like the URLs or links presented.

E-book from Library databases

Ebook from a database e.g. Ebook Central or Treaty of Waitangi collection

The 7th edition of APA does not differentiate between the format of the books, print or electronic. Cite both the same way. If you have an open-access eBook, you may provide the URL at the end, provided it directly takes you to the full text without logging in. If the book has been found in a database e.g. Ebook Central, do not include a URL.

 

Elements of a reference

Example

 

In text citation

Sherratt (2013) regards.....

OR

... (Sherratt, 2013).

Reference list

Sherratt, P. (2014). Passing exams for dummies (2nd ed.). Wiley Publishing.

*Include an edition statement if it is a 2nd edition or later

Book or E-book with a doi

Elements of a reference

* The database name, URL or date of retrieval are not required.

Example

In text citation

Belich (2015)....

OR

...(Belich, 2015).

Reference list

Belich, J. (2015). I shall not die: Titokowaru's war, 1868-1869. Bridget Williams Books. https://doi.org/10.7810/9781877242496

Some of the books in the Treaty of Waitangi database have a doi that can be used but many of them include other information in the doi field and therefore cannot be used as a doi e.g. http://doi.org.ezproxy2.witt.ac.nz/7g8. A doi contains a string of numbers and letters and will always start with the number 10. See here for information about doi numbers.