Articles are typically the most important type of source for many types of research. The most efficient way to find articles on a topic is to search a database, which allows you to search for articles from hundreds of journals at once. Each database searches different sets of journals, so usually you'll want to search several databases. All of the databases listed on this page are accessible from off campus. Off-campus users will be prompted for their Campus ID/password.
Visit our guide on database searching to learn how to search the databases quickly and effectively
Grey literature is usually understood to mean literature that is not formally published in sources such as books or journal articles. It may be described as ephemeral, invisible, informal, underground, etc., that is, literature that may be unevaluated, not peer-reviewed.
Grey Literature exists in many formats: reports, including preprints; preliminary progress and advanced reports; institutional, internal, technical, and statistical reports; research memoranda; state-of-the-art reports; market research reports; reports of commissions and study groups; as well as
* theses
* conference proceedings
* technical specifications and standards
* translations (not distributed commercially)
* bibliographies
* technical and commercial documentation
* official documents (issued in limited numbers)
First, look for a direct link to the article. Specifically, look for links that say HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text.
If you don't see one of these links, look for the same article on one of our other databases. If you are still unsuccessful, we may be able to interloan the article from another library for you.