LibGuides: Enrolled Nursing: Nursing Databases

General Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides global access to one of the largest online content repositories in the world, with full text of over 4000 journals, newspapers and magazines with detailed abstracts and indexing for a further 3500 publications. The following subjects are covered: accounting, arts, business, careers, computers, economics, children, education, finance, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, medicine, multicultural, newspapers, pharmacy; psychology, sciences, social sciences, technology, and telecommunications.
Australia/ New Zealand Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Offers access to New Zealand and Australian focused articles and resources.
- What is included? Articles on a wide range of topics from leading Australia and New Zealand magazines and newspapers. Fulltext from a range of NZ and Australian reference books. More than 60,000 full-text biographies and an image collection of more than 1.9 million photos, maps and flags. Video encyclopedia of the 20th century.

Nursing and Health Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the Nursing profession, from specialised care, treatment to management of patients. Includes nearly 400 journal titles
Health and Wellness Resource Centre This link opens in a new window
700 health and medical journals incorporating video clips and hundreds of pamphlets. Health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications.Contains articles from the Alternative Health Module
Nursing Reference Centre Plus (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A nurse’s time is a prized commodity, and in order to provide the best care possible, they need to quickly find the right answers to their clinical questions every time. With Nursing Reference Center Plus, an evidence-based information resource designed by nurses for nurses, users can do just that. Unmatched in scope, nurses turn to Nursing Reference Center Plus for all their practice, education and research needs.
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing This link opens in a new window
Add the journal name to the Published in box so that you have full access to the articles. The International Journal of Mental Health Nursing is a peer-reviewed nursing journal covering psychiatric and mental health nursing. It is is the official journal of the Australian College of Mental Health Nurses
Lippincott Nursing Skills and Procedures This link opens in a new window
This resource offers 1,300+ step-by-step evidence-based nursing procedures and skills. With detailed instructions and visuals, including full-colour art and video clips which let you see techniques first hand. Midland District Health has specifically customised topics: IV procedures and infection control to suit New Zealand protocols (with more to follow soon!)
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
Lippincott Advisor is a collection of evidence-based content that provides practicing nurses with instant access to online references at the point of care.
Cochrane Library (Onsite and Offsite) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases and is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.
Human anatomy This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive introduces interactive 3-D models so students can deep dive into specific systems or regions of the body. Users can explore 3-D models by zooming in, rotating, and dissecting them.
JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you and your team can integrate the world’s best evidence into your practice:

- Evidence Summaries
- Evidence–Based Recommended Practices
- Best Practice Information Sheets
- Systematic Reviews
- Consumer Information Sheets
- Systematic Review Protocols
- Technical Reports