Research methodology: a step-by-step guide for beginners by 
Research literacy : a primer for understanding and using research by 
Doing a successful research project : using qualitative or quantitative methods by 
Research design : quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches by Research design : quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches by 
Doing survey research : a guide to quantitative methods by Research design : quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches by 
Nursing research : generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice by 
Reading, understanding, and applying nursing research by 
Fundamentals of nursing and midwifery research by
The textbook (McKenna & Copnell, 2019) is clearly and logically structured and organised. The text is highly readable yet familiarises the reader with the research process and research language. Nursing Tutors (and other researchers) at WITT will benefit from Section 2 in particular when constructing their research proposals and research designs. Section 3 addresses ethical issues and Section 4 literature reviews.
The authors are both Australian nurse academics from La Trobe University in Melbourne and have extensive nursing research and research teaching experience.
McKenna, L., & Copnell, B. (2019). Fundamentals of nursing and midwifery research: A practical guide for evidence-based practice. Sydney, Australia: Allen & Unwin.
Succeeding in literature reviews and research project plans for nursing students by 
Straightforward statistics ; understanding the tools of research by 
Critiquing nursing research by 
The Research Process in Nursing by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research. With applied and practical examples throughout, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is essential reading for those who are looking for a comprehensive introduction to qualitative research.
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance by
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance is perfect for nursing and healthcare students, as well as newly qualified practitioners and anyone looking for a refresher or introduction to research. Covering a broad range of topics gathered under key sections, this essential book combines informative diagrams and images to provide memorable information for students on one page, and accessible, clearly written text on the facing page. It includes information on a range of quantitative and qualitative research methods, the process of gaining ethical permission, conducting research with special groups including children, and successfully conducting reviews of the literature. Key features include: Clear and informative full colour illustrations throughout An emphasis on need-to-know research information for busy students and healthcare staff A wide range of research methods, currently used in modern healthcare research An impressive line-up of specialist and well-known experts in the field of health and nursing research This book provides quick access to the principles and reality of research and its implementation within the education and practice environment. It is essential reading for anyone in health service education and service settings with limited time who need to draw on research evidence.
Understanding business research by Te Whare MÄtauranga / Learning Resource Centre
06 7573261
