Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Resources: News Archives

News Archives

INNZ (Index New Zealand)  Tutorial : Contains abstracts from nearly 300 New Zealand journals and selected newspapers (Articles may be available through the library Interloan scheme).

New Zealand Index  (Onsite) Search tips
New Zealand Index  (Offsite, the password and username are the same as the campus network logins)
A combined database of NZ Science, Newzindex, Newspaper Index and a limited search of INNZ (Articles may be available through the library Interloan scheme).

findNZarticles : This database is an index (Articles may be available through the library Interloan scheme) to Maori; newspaper; science and technology resources. Including:

Papers index

Landcare Publications database

INNZ (limited searching functionality)

The indexes to Te Ao Hou, Te Maori,and Te Kaunihera Maori mainly in the 1960s-70s.

BUGS - Bibliography of NZ terrestrial invertebrates, 1775-1993

New Zealand science journals 1918-1994

Chapters from books/conference papers on the Index New Zealand CD-ROM

Papers Past : Containing more than one million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1840 to 1915 and includes publications from all regions of New Zealand.

Newspaper Archives and Indexes :  A variety of free and subscription databases.

The Argus Index : An 1870-1879 index to the main Melbourne newspaper

Sydney Morning Herald : A selective index from 1 January 1988 - 30 June 2005.

ActivePaper Archive : A selection on early British newspapers.