Skip to main content

Art and Design: Home

Get PDF Reader

A database allows you to search for material in journals, magazines and electronic books. You can read a description (abstract) of the article or book or you can often read the whole article or book online. Many databases require Adobe Acrobat Reader to read PDF files.

 Click here to download the reader

Databases for Art and Design

 Searching for information is a four step process:

  1. Brainstorm your topic to find relevant keywords and phrases
  2. Select a database that has content for your subject. The list below is a good starting point.
  3. Use the keywords and phrases from your brainstorm to create your search. Each database has Help pages available to assist with your search
  4. View your results, evaluate and select the article(s) you require, or, redevelop your keywords and start the process again.

Australia/ New Zealand Reference Centre

Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books.

Australia New Zealand Reference Centre Image

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care (ie Kai Tiaki: Nursing New Zealand), hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

General Onefile image

Index New Zealand (INNZ)

Contains abstracts from nearly 300 New Zealand journals and selected newspapers.

Index NZ image

 

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.


Opposing Viewpoints In Context Web image