A database allows you to search for material in journals, magazines and electronic books. You can read a description (abstract) of the article or book or you can often read the whole article or book online. Many databases require Adobe Acrobat Reader to read PDF files.
Click here to download the reader
Searching for information is a four step process:
Offers access to more than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer reviewed journals. Millions of full text articles available. News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care (ie Kai Tiaki: Nursing New Zealand), humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology. Links to medical videos.
Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books.
Provides over 150 different subject areas to choose from.
128,000 digital books, on a wide range of subjects. You can set up a password on the bookshelf area, and add passages and your own notes, and have APA style references added automatically. A quick user guide is available on the homepage here.
Contains abstracts from nearly 300 New Zealand journals and selected newspapers.
Provides global access to one of the largest online content repositories in the world, with full text of over 4000 journals, newspapers and magazines with detailed abstracts and indexing for a further 3500 publications. The following subjects are covered: accounting, arts, business, careers, computers, economics, children, education, finance, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, medicine, multicultural, newspapers, pharmacy; psychology, sciences, social sciences, technology, and telecommunications.
700 health and medical journals incorporating video clips and hundreds of pamphlets. Health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications.Contains articles from the Alternative Health Module