Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Health: Home

New Nursing eBooks

IMG1_ALT

Click on the title to go straight to the ebook content

Get PDF Reader

A database allows you to search for material in journals, magazines and electronic books. You can read a description (abstract) of the article or book or you can often read the whole article or book online. Many databases require Adobe Acrobat Reader to read PDF files.

 Click here to download the reader

Databases for Art and Design

 Searching for information is a four step process:

  1. Brainstorm your topic to find relevant keywords and phrases
  2. Select a database that has content for your subject. The list below is a good starting point.
  3. Use the keywords and phrases from your brainstorm to create your search. Each database has Help pages available to assist with your search
  4. View your results, evaluate and select the article(s) you require, or, redevelop your keywords and start the process again.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile Web image Offers access to more than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer reviewed journals. Millions of full text articles available. News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care (ie Kai Tiaki: Nursing New Zealand), humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology. Links to medical videos.

Australia/ New Zealand Reference Centre

Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books.

Australia New Zealand Reference Centre Image

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases and is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.

Cochrane Library image

ebrary

128,000 digital books, on a wide range of subjects. You can set up a password on the bookshelf area, and add passages and your own notes, and have APA style references added automatically. A quick user guide is available on the homepage here.

Ebrary image

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care (ie Kai Tiaki: Nursing New Zealand), hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

General Onefile image

Health and Wellness Resource Centre

700 health and medical journals incorporating video clips and hundreds of pamphlets. Health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications.Contains articles from the Alternative Health Module

Health & wellness image

Index New Zealand (INNZ)

Contains abstracts from nearly 300 New Zealand journals and selected newspapers.

Index NZ image

 

JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database)

This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you and your team can integrate the world’s best evidence into your practice:

- Evidence Summaries
- Evidence–Based Recommended Practices
- Best Practice Information Sheets
- Systematic Reviews
- Consumer Information Sheets
- Systematic Review Protocols
- Technical Reports

Lippincott Nursing Skills and Procedures

This new resource offers 1,300+ step-by-step evidence-based nursing procedures and skills. With detailed instructions and visuals, including full-colour art and video clips which let you see techniques first hand. Midland District Health has specifically customised topics: IV procedures and infection control to suit New Zealand protocols (with more to follow soon!)

Lippincott procedures image

MasterFILE Complete

Provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference periodicals covering business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues, and reference books including biographies, primary source documents and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.  Dating as far back as 1975.  You can arrange for a Journal Alert (You will be emailed with a contents list every time a new issue of your journal is published) or Search Alert (to be emailed every time a new article on your topic is published) service.

MasterFILE image

Proquest

Provides global access to one of the largest online content repositories in the world, with full text of over 4000 journals, newspapers and magazines with detailed abstracts and indexing for a further 3500 publications. The following subjects are covered:  accounting, arts, business, careers, computers, economics, children, education, finance, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, medicine, multicultural, newspapers, pharmacy; psychology, sciences, social sciences, technology, and telecommunications.

 

 Proquest image

Practice Exercise for Proquest